Six Days in Senegal

Senegal, MissionsSix days is not a very long time when you really think about it. It’s less than a week. But it’s amazing what God can do in such a short amount of time. He created the earth in six days for crying out loud! (It’s true! Day number seven was for rest.)

Nearly two weeks ago, I was in Dakar, the capital city of Senegal. Dakar is a unique city in that it does not resemble any city you find in the States. Unfinished buildings can be found on every corner, traffic lanes are mere suggestions and the puddles are not from rain. Livestock roam freely, goats and sheep baa-ing at you as you walk by.

And yet, there is something beautiful about this city. Something that makes you forget that it’s noisy and dirty and crowded. That something is the people. It sounds cliché, but the people worm their way into your heart and you can’t help but love them. The missionaries that we worked with genuinely love the people of Dakar. It was amazing to see how they loved them, not just hear them talk about it.

The people are what I will remember most. How they invited us “toobabs” (Wolof for white person) into their homes and introduced us to their families. How they greeted us and patiently listened as we stumbled through the three or four Wolof words we knew. How the students at the English camp we helped out with jumped right in and got goofy with us and how they contemplated the story of Joseph as we acted it out. How the kids ran around and acted crazy and wanted to play with us even though we couldn’t understand each other. How the missionaries never treated us as temporary but poured into us and showed us their passion for sharing the gospel with all nations.

There are so many stories I could share from this trip but I don’t have space enough to tell them. I saw God work in Dakar in me, in our team and in the people that we encountered. I told the missionaries during our debriefing that something within me has changed. I don’t know what it is yet or how it will manifest itself but my constant prayer is that I won’t forget what happened in Africa.

I wish I could show you the beautiful faces of the men, women and children who made my time in Senegal so meaningful, but their safety is more important to me than sharing a photo on a blog. Instead I leave you with a few photos of the team: Lindsay, Whitney, Kelsey and Me.

For more info about our time in Senegal, check out the awesome post that our fearless leader Lindsay wrote for the Fuge blog.

IMG_1886

Hanging out at the westernmost tip of Africa. No big deal.

IMG_1688

Heating our Tapalapa bread over the stove we had to light with a match.

IMG_1716

Yassa, a traditional Senegalese dish. It was really delicious!

IMG_1888

My mermaid pose.

Senegal 13-142

Trying a traditional tea called Ataya.

Senegal 13-135

Waiting for the kiddos to invade.

Leave a Reply

